• Menu
Probate Court

Location:

Union County Courthouse

65 Courthouse Street, Suite 8

Blairsville, GA 30512

 

Dwain Brackett – Probate Court Judge (Serving Since 1997)

 


Contact Details:

Phone: (706) 439-6006

Fax: (706) 439-6009


Business Hours:

Monday – Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Closed - Holidays

About:

Georgia Probate Courts exercise exclusive, original jurisdiction in the probate of wills, administration of estates, appointment of guardians (minor and adult) and involuntary hospitalization of incapacitated adults and other individuals.

All probate court judges administer oaths of office, issue marriage and firearms licenses; some process United States Passports applications. They may hold habeas corpus hearings or preside over criminal preliminary hearings. Unless a jury trial is requested, probate court judges may also hear certain misdemeanors, traffic cases and violations of state game and fish laws in counties where there is no state court. When authorized by local statute, probate judges serve as election supervisors and make appointments to certain local public offices. 

Probate Court handles:
  • Misdemeanor traffic citations
  • Game and fish violations
  • Marriage licenses
  • Weapon Carry licenses
  • Estates
  • Guardianships of minors and incapacitated adults
  • Numerous miscellaneous duties

It is a court of record; therefore, all documents filed in Probate Court must be recorded in minute books and kept permanently available to the public - except information that is prohibited by law for public inspection.

The Probate Court is committed to providing you with excellent customer service. We will be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns you may have about the services of this office or the procedures you must follow for a particular process. Please be advised, however, that state law prohibits our staff from rendering legal advice, restating the law or recommending specific ways to pursue legal action. If you have a problem involving the interpretation of the law, we suggest you contact an attorney licensed to practice in the State of Georgia.

Estates / Guardianship

Information regarding estate and guardianship proceedings can be found on the Georgia Probate website. Georgia Probate Court Standard Forms are available for download where you can print the form and file it in the Probate Court. Forms are also available in the office.  All filings must be accompanied by a filing fee which is payable by cash, check, money order, Visa or MasterCard. Please contact the Probate Court for all filing fee information.

Traffic

Court is held on a monthly basis for misdemeanor traffic violations and game and fish violations. Some vilations have mandatory court appearances while others may be paid prior to the scheduled arraignment date.

To pay a citation, you may use the following options:

- Pay in person with cash, money order, or Visa or Mastercard
- Pay by mail with money order or cashiers check
- Pay online by Visa or MasterCard at EZCourtpay.com

Vital Records

The Probate Court is the vital records for Union County. Certified copies of birth and death certificates can be obtained in the office in person or requested through the mail. Certified copies of vital records may be obtained in any county in the state of Georgia no matter the county of birth or death.

Fees for vital records are uniform across the state of Georgia:

- $25 for the first copy
- $5 for each additional copy of the same person requested at the same time

To request by mail, please mail the request along with proper payment, a copy of your identification, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to the Probate Court address above.

For information on how to obtain copies of birth and death certificates from other states, please visit the following link

Other helpful links - Georgia State office of Vital Records.

Marriage Licenses

The Probate Court of Union County issues marriage licenses and maintains those records. We also issue certified and plain copies of marriage licenses and applications for all marriages that were applied for in Union County.

ONLINE APPLICATION click here: Applicants may submit an online application.  Within two weeks, applicants must come to the Probate Court to complete the application process.  Please follow directions as indicated on the online application and indicated below.

Obtaining a marriage license - issued Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.:

  • Applicants must both appear in person to complete the application for a marriage license.
  • Applicants must be 18 years of age or older. (Certain circumstances permit underage applicants to obtain a marriage license. Call the Union County Probate Court for additional information.)
  • A picture identification card is required for both applicants.
  • A divorce decree or death certificate from the former spouse is required from any applicant that has had a prior marriage.
  • At least one applicant has to be a resident of Georgia in order to apply for a marriage license in a county other than the county where the ceremony is to take place. If both applicants are nonresidents of Georgia, then the application must be made in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place.

Effective May 13, 2010 the fee for a marriage license is:

  • $26.00 for couples with a certificate of pre-marriage counseling.*
  • $66.00 for couples without a certificate of pre-marriage counseling.
  • Fees are payable by cash, check, or money order or Visa or MasterCard.
  • Certified copies are an additional $10.00 per copy. 

After the ceremony, the license is to be returned to the issuing probate court, which will then record the license in the marriage docket. Certified copies of the license may then be issued by the court.

*Note: Pre-marital counseling must include at least six hours of instruction involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to: (a) conflict management, (b) communication skills, (c) financial responsibilities, (d) child and parenting responsibilities; and (e) extended family roles. The program must have been completed within twelve months prior to the application, and the couple must have undergone the premarital education together. To qualify, the premarital education must have been performed by: (a) a professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist; (b) a psychiatrist; (c) a psychologist; or (d) an active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy, or the designee of such active member of the clergy, provided the designee is skilled and trained in premarital education.


Georgia Weapons Carry Licenses

The Probate Court of Union County issues Georgia Weapons Carry Licenses to all qualified persons who are residents of Union County, Georgia.  

Georgia Weapons Carry licenses may be obtained Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m - 4:00 p.m.

ONLINE APPLICATION click here: Applicants may submit an online application.  Within two weeks, applicants must come to the Probate Court to complete the application process.  Please follow directions as indicated on the online application and indicated below.

Requirements for NEW Weapons Carry License Applications:

  • Must be 21 years of age (if under 21, must provide proof of completion of basic training and proof of active service or an honorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States)
  • Must be a resident of Union County, GA
  • Must submit a picture identification including the physical address (if PO Box - Must bring proof of physical address)
  • Must submit to a fingerprint based criminal background check within 5 business days before any license is issued.  If you have questions regarding the various prohibitions for Weapons Carry licenses, you may refer to OCGA 16-11-129(b).  Fingerprinting is available at Union County Jail on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 10:00AM-2:00PM ONLY.
  • Fees: $79.25 - Cash, Checks or Money Orders and or Visa or MasterCard.
  • The license, when approved, is valid for five years.
  • For additional information relating to the application for a Weapons Carry license, please contact the Union County Probate Court.

Requirements for RENEWAL Weapons Carry License Applications (effective July 1, 2014):

  • Must currently hold a Union County issued license
  • May renew 90 days prior to expiration of current license or within 30 days after expiration
  • Must be a resident of Union County, GA 
  • Must submit a picture identification including the physical address (if PO Box - Must bring proof of physical address)
  • Fees: $30.00 - Cash, checks or money orders or VISA or Mastercard  
  • The license, when approved, is valid for five years.
  • For additional information, please contact the Union County Probate Court.

PROBATE COURT INFORMATION AND RESOURCES
Georgia Probate Courts
Georgia Probate Procedures - "What to Do When a Loved One Dies"
Proceeding Pro Se in Probate Court
Uniform Rules of Probate Court

GOVERNMENT AND LEGAL RESOURCES

The National College of Probate Judges
The State Bar of Georgia
The American Bar Association
The Secretary of State of Georgia
The State of Georgia – Official Web Page
GA Code
Georgia Department of Drivers Services

FORMS
Birth Records Request Form
Death Records Request Form
Marriage License Request Form
Marriage License Application Form
Qualifying Premarital Education Form

ONLINE APPLICATIONS

Weapons Carry License Application

Marriage License Application

Your unsaved data will be lost once session expires. Your session will expire in:

{{ remainingTime | minute }} minutes.