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We would like to thank Tax Commissioner Lee Knight and the Tax Commissioner’s Office for providing 
this information. 

Q. What is the Tax Commissioner’s Office responsible for? 

A. The mission of the Tax Commissioner's Office is to bill, collect, and disburse all taxes as 
prescribed by the laws of the State of Georgia and to act as the Motor Vehicle tag and title agent for the 
State. Union County has one of the highest tax collection rates in the State of Georgia. Their staff is 
dedicated to collecting all taxes and ensuring the smooth and orderly operation of county government. 
Sharing the responsibility of improving our community depends on the taxes we all pay as they are 
disbursed back to you in many different ways. 

Q. What is the billing process for property taxes? 

A. The process for taxing real property begins with the purchase of property. Once a sale is 
finalized, a deed is recorded with the Clerk of Superior Court's Office at the Union County Courthouse in 
Blairsville, Georgia. The Tax Assessor's office then assigns a value to the property and an assessment 
notice is mailed to each individual property owner in May of the following year. The property owner 
then has a 45 day period to appeal the assigned value. Once the appeal process period has ended, a tax 
digest is compiled. The tax digest is an official listing of all property owners in the county, the assessed 
value of the property they own, and the taxes levied on the property. This is the central document of the 
Tax Commissioner's Office. It is a complete listing of property owners, their street addresses, legal 
addresses, property locations, exemptions, assessments and taxes due. Once completed, the digest is 
submitted to the State Department of Revenue for approval 

After approval is received, bills are prepared and mailed out. In accordance with Georgia State Law, tax 
bills are mailed to the owner of record as of January 1st of the tax year being billed. Therefore, a new 
owner who bought a given property during the year will not receive a bill. Please Note - Failure to 
receive a bill does not relieve responsibility of paying taxes due. The taxpayer then has a period equal 
to at least 60 days to pay this annual tax bill. If bills are not paid by due date, 1% interest incurs each 
month on the amount due. After becoming 90 days delinquent a 10% penalty will be added and then  
the Tax Commissioner's Office may begin tax sale proceedings. 

Q. What happens if a person does not pay their property tax? 

A.  Union County real estate and business personal property taxes are due by December 20th. If 
taxes are not collected on the property, it may be levied upon and ultimately sold. Property tax collected 
by the local government is used to pay for the support of services provided by the Union County Board 
of Education, Union County Government, and the State of Georgia.   

Q. If I am unable to pay my taxes, do I have any options? 

A. Yes, you do.  Don’t just ignore the fact that you owe taxes because, trust me, they will not go 
away.  If you cannot pay, immediately make an appointment to see the Tax Commissioner and make 
arrangements to make payments.  The Tax Commissioner will work with you if you are willing to work 
with them.  

 



Q. What if a taxpayer discovers they have paid taxes that they believe were in error or 
erroneous? 

A. If a taxpayer discovers they have paid taxes that they believe were in error or erroneous, they 
may request a refund within 3 years of the date of payment. The claim for refund should be filed in 
writing with the Commissioner’s Office within three years after the date of payment. Applications for 
refunds are available from the Board of Assessors or the Tax Commissioner. Refunds for erroneous paid 
taxes must be based on "errors of fault" and not on disagreements of value. 

Q.  When will property tax bills be mailed this year? 

A.  The goal by the county government, school system and Tax Commissioner is to mail the bills by the 
first or second week in September this year. This will give taxpayers longer in which to prepare to make 
their payments so that everything does not happen during the Christmas season, when we are  already 
financially stretched.  Remember, if you are not able to pay your property taxes, do not ignore them, but 
contact the Tax Commissioner's office to see if a payment schedule can be worked out. Once tax bills are 
mailed the Tax Commissioner’s Office can then accept full and partial payments on that bill.  Taxpayers 
may also view and pay their property taxes online at www.uniongatax.com. 
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