
Commissioner Questions Dec  3 2014  

This Q & A was created by the Tax Commissioner's office in April of this year, so many of you have 
already had experience with the new state vehicle tax collection system.  However, this is provided to 
remind you of some of the issues you may be dealing with. 

Q. What is the process for renewal of motor vehicle tags? 

A. Motor vehicle tag renewals are due on the owner’s birthday.  If you were a resident of Union 
County last year and renewed your tag in Union County last year, then you should receive a bill 60 days 
prior to your birthday if your address has not changed.  If you did not, bring your registration with tag 
number to the Tax Commissioner’s office.  

Q. What is the penalty for late registration? 

A. The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax and 25% of the tag fee.  These penalties begin 
immediately following the due date (midnight of your birthday).  This is unless you fall under the new 
TAVT system. 

Q. Please explain what the new TAVT system is. 

A. TAVT stands for Title Ad Valorem Tax which is a one-time tax (fee) replacing the “birthday tax”.  
Generally, any motor vehicle purchased on or after March 1, 2013 and titled in Georgia is exempt from 
sales and use tax and the annual ad valorem tax, also known as the “birthday tax.”  These taxes are 
replaced by a one-time tax called the title ad valorem tax fee (TAVT).  Unlike sales tax, which is imposed 
on the price of the vehicle, the TAVT is imposed on the Fair Market Value of the motor vehicle.   

Q. What do I need to do if I buy a new car? 

A. If you buy a vehicle from a dealer, all vehicles must be registered within 30 days of purchase.  
No one can register a car in the state of Georgia without a title applied for at the time of registration or 
a dealer/lien holder applying for a title.  Other items you will need are: 

1. Acceptable proof of insurance 
2. Georgia Driver’s License or copy of primary owner’s Driver’s License with Union County address 
 
Q.          What do I need to do if I buy a used vehicle from an individual?  

A.          All vehicles must be registered within 7 days of purchase.  Items you will need are:  

1. Title from individual selling vehicle – correctly signed 
2. Acceptable proof of insurance 
3. Georgia Driver’s License with a Union County address 
4. Current Mileage-unless exempt 

 
You are required to title all 1986 and newer vehicles prior to registration.  All owners need to be present 
with valid identification and acceptable proof of insurance. 

If you have any questions about the motor vehicle tag process, please call the Tax Commissioner’s Office 
at 706-439-6017 or 706-439-6018. 


