## TRADE NAME REGISTRATION

Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-490) REQUIRES every "person, firm, or partnership, carrying on in this state any trade or business under any trade name or partnership name or other name" to register the trade name of the business with 30 days from "commencing to do business." As provided by law, the registration shall be filed with the Clerk of the Superior Court "of the county in which the business is chiefly carried on or, in the case of a domestic corporation using any name other than its corporate name, in the county of its legal domicile."

The registration statement should provide the name or names and addresses of the person, persons, firm, or partnership owning and carrying on said trade or business" and state 'the nature of the business being carried on and the trade, partnership, or other name used. Upon any change of ownership, a new and amended statement of registration must be filed with the Clerk of Superior Court.

Furthermore, also Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-493) states the <u>penalty</u> for failing to register a trade name as follows: "Any person, firm, partnership, or corporation carrying on any trade or business subject to registration under Code Section § 10-1-490 without filing such registration as required by Code Section § 10-1-490 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor but shall suffer no other or further penalty or forfeiture on account of any such failure to register, except costs as provided in Code Section § 10-1-491."

Notice of the filing shall be published in the newspaper in which the sheriff's advertisements are printed once a week for two weeks. No person, firm, or partnership already registered shall be required to re-register except in the event of a change of ownership.

The fee for filing the registration is \$157.00, payable to the Office of the Clerk of the Superior Court of the county where filed.