*PLEASE READ*
Georgia Weapons Carry License Application Information Sheet

*THIS APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE COMING TO THE
OFFICE. YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO COMPLETE THE APPLICATION AT THE
COURTHOUSE EXCEPT FOR SIGNATURES.*

= Times for Accepting Applications: Weapons Carry License Applications are accepted ONLY between
the hours of 8:00AM to 4:00PM, Monday through Friday.

= Domicile: Georgia law requires all applicants for a WCL to be domiciled in the county of application.
“Domiciled” means the applicant lives in this county and intends to remain here. You will be required
to present your Georgia driver’s license or photo identification at the time of application. It must
reflect your current Union County residential address; however, if you have a post office box, you
must provide proof of your residential address (ie: homestead exemption, voters registration, tax
records, etc.)

* Fees: New licenses are $76.00. Renewal licenses (90 days prior up to 30 days after expiration only)
are $30.00. Payment is due at the time of application. Cash, local checks, and Visa or Mastercard are
accepted.

= Fingerprinting: If you are required to be fingerprinted, you will be directed to the Union County Jail
upon applying. Fingerprints are taken at the jail on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday from
9:00AM to 4:00PM and on Tuesday from 9:00AM to 12:00PM.

* Photograph: All applicants are required to be photographed as part of the licensing process. This
photograph will be made at the time of application.

» Eligibility: This office will not “pre-qualify” you for a license. Any decisions on eligibility are made
after an application has been submitted and a criminal history has been received. If you have
questions regarding your eligibility, it is recommended that you seek the advice of an attorney. If
there are problems with your eligibility after the application has been submitted, you will be notified.

= Replacements: Replacements licenses are $6.00. If your license is damaged, you must turn it in at
the time of receiving the replacement. If your license is lost or stolen, you must report it to this office
within 48 hours.

= Legal advice: This office is not able to provide you with legal advice regarding where you can carry
your weapon.

= Reciprocity*: The following states honor Weapons Carry Licenses issued by Georgia: Alabama,
Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota,
Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West
Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. (*This list may be subject to change at any time pursuant to the
state Attorney General’s office. It is your responsibility to know the laws of these states.)

* THE LICENSE WILL BE MAILED TO YOU UPON ISSUANCE AT THE MAILING ADDRESS PROVIDED ON
THE APPLICATION.*



UNION _ County, Georgia County Number

APPLICATION FOR WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE

Applicant’s Name:

First Middle Last (oras registered_with IN_S)
Maiden Name, Aliases & Names Previously Used:
Date of Birth: __ / /  (Ageif<21:___ + attach proof of completed basic training or honorable discharge)
INS Alien/Admission No.
Sex: ~ Race: Height Weight: Hair Color: Eye Color:
Place of Birth: —
City State, Province or District Country

Residence/Street Address: -
City, State, Zip: County:
Mailing Address if different:
Phone Numbers: Home ( ) Other ( )
GA Military Base of non-resident who is active military (attach copy of active duty orders)
1. Are you currently a United States CIZen? ..........cvvveuviiiiiiiiiiaiiiie e Yes[ ] No []

Have you ever renounced your U.S. citizenship? ...........ooiiiiiiiiiiiiniiie e Yes [ JNo []

If so, attach a copy of the reversal of renunciation.

» If you are not a U.S. Citizen:

*  You must show proof of name/address/date of birth/place of birth/INS or ICE number/photo ID.
e Identify all countries of citizenship:
. Attach: (@) Documentation of your lawful presence in the United States, for example:

-As to Immigrant Aliens: Resident Alien card, Permanent Resident Card or Immigrant
Visa with Adit Stamp; OR

-As to Non-Immigrant Aliens: a Student Visa, Tourist Visa, Employment Authorization
Card, or valid Passport with Arrival/Departure Record;

and
(b) Proof of residency in the State of Georgia.
2. Are you a non-immigrant (temporarily admitted) alien? [See above]_..........cccovvvievereinnnnn. Yes [ | No []

If yes, attach proof that you fall within an exemption establishing your eligibility.
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3. Have you been convicted of or pled guilty to any offense or court-martial charge involving the
unlawful possession or use of a controlled substance or dangerous drug within the past five
years or served any portion of incarceration or probation for use or possession of a
controlled substance within the past five Years?...........cccoevevevvinecenineeesere e Yes [ No [ ]

If yes and the foregoing conviction was for a misdemeanor drug offense, have you also within the past

five years been convicted of, or served any portion of incarceration or probation in that time for a second
misdemeanor drug offense involving use or possession of a controlled substance, unlawful manufacture

or distribution of a controlled substance or dangerous drug, or of unlawful possession or shipping of a
firearm, or had a weapon carry license revoked within the last 3 years?..........cocccevvveerurinveienee Yes [ No []

If pardoned and firearms rights restored, attach copy of pardon.

4. Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty to, any misdemeanor crime involving the use or
attempted use of physical force or threatened use of a deadly weapon towards (a) anyone as to whom at
the time of the offense you were a current or former spouse, parent or guardian or similarly situated to a
spouse, parent or guardian, (b) a person with whom you had a child in common, or (c) a person you lived
with or had lived with as a spouse, parent or guardian or similarly situated to a spouse, parent or guardian,
including but not limited to a girlfriend, boyfriend, step-child, foster child or ward ? .......... Yes [INo[]

If pardoned and firearms rights restored, attach copy of pardon.
5. Have you ever been convicted of or pled guilty to any felony offense or any offense punishable

by a term of imprisonment over one year, including a conviction by a court-martial under the
Uniform Code of Military Justice for an offense which would constitute a felony?................... Yes [ | No [ ]

If pardoned and firearms rights restored, attach copy of pardon.

6. Have you ever been convicted of or pled guilty to any offense arising out of the unlawful
manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance or dangerous drug? ........................ Yes [ | No [ ]

If pardoned and firearms rights restored, attach copy of pardon.

7. Have you ever been convicted of or pled guilty to carrying a weapon without a weapons
carry license, or carrying a weapon or long gun in an unauthorized location?.................... Yes [_]No []

If so, have you served any portion of incarceration or probation for such firearms offense
in the past five years or had any other conviction or guilty plea within the past five years?... Yes [_] No [_]

Attach proof of the date your term of incarceration or probation ended, whichever is later (if any).

8. Are you under current indictment or information (formal charges) for a crime punishable by
imprisonment for a term eXceeding ONE YEAI?.....c.cvvvverveveereeiiriereeirreseeeereesreeseesseeseeseessessesns Yes [ No []

9. Have you left any state or any foreign jurisdiction to avoid criminal prosecution, to avoid
testifying in any criminal proceeding, or knowing that charges are pending against you?........ Yes [ JNo[]

10. Have you tested positive for drugs in the past year, admitted to having used drugs within the past
year, or been arrested more than once in the last five years with the last arrest having been in the
past year for any offense arising out of the unlawful possession, manufacturing, distribution or use
of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug?...........coviiiivviiiiiiiiiiine e, Yes [ | No[]
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11. Do you use any controlled substance or illegal drug other than as prescribed by a licensed
physician, or have you done so within the past year, or regularly used any such drug within
the Past fIVe YEars7..........cciiviiiiiiiniiii ettt Yes [ No []

12. Are you addicted to or have you lost self-control over any controlled substance or drug? ... Yes [JNo[]

13. Are you, or have you ever been, subject to any court order (including but not limited to restraining
orders, protective orders, peace bonds & good behavior bonds) restraining you from harassing,
stalking, threatening, engaging in communication with, or refraining in any manner from contact with
or coming in proximity to any current or former spouse, any person with whom you have a child in
common, or person with whom you live or lived while in a sexual relationship?.......c.c.ccc...... Yes [ No []

If yes, attach a copy of the order and any later order terminating or superceding
the original order.

14. Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces, or separated
from the U.S. Armed Forces under a dismissal adjudged by a general court-martial? ......... Yes [ | No [ ]

15. Have you ever been found by a civil or criminal court, board, commission or other lawful
authority, as a result of subnormal intelligence, incompetency, mental illness, condition or
disease, to be a danger to yourself or others, to lack the mental capacity to manage your own
affairs, or to be incompetent to stand trial, guilty but mentally ill, not guilty by reason of insanity
or not guilty for lack of mental responsibility? ..........occoiiiiiiriiiiii e Yes ] No []

16. Have you been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment
center within the past 5 years, or have you ever been ordered to receive inpatient or outpatient
treatment at any treatment facility, mental health center, hospital, sanitarium, clinic or program
for a mental condition, drug abuse, or alcohol abuse, by any court, board, or other authority in
any civil, criminal or administrative proceeding? (If yes, attach a copy of the order) ........ Yes [ No[]

17. Have you had a weapons carry license revoked by a judge of a probate court within the

I do swear and affirm under penalty of false swearing or perjury that the foregoing
information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE
Sworn to and subscribed before me
This day of .20 FOR COURT USE ONLY:
On the applicant was:
Clerk of Probate Court or Notary Public __ issueda firearms license ____ denied a firearms license

Judge/Clerk, Probate Court o
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NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for
a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration
or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are
discussed below.

You must be provided written notification' that your fingerprints will be used to check the
criminal history records of the FBL.

You must be pr;jifided; and"; acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement
when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act
Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your
information will be used, retained, and shared. 2

If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your
suitabi‘lity for the employment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to
complete or- challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change; correction, or
update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR), Section 16.34.

If you have a criminal history reconid, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time
to correct or complete the record (or decline to de so) before the officials deny you the
employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.’

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record

check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of
federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule; procedure or standard established by the
National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.*

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal
history record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks.

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record,
you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the
FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then
forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request
the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in
accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

! Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

3 See 28 CFR 50.12(b).

4 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).
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APPLICANT PRIVACY RIGHTS
NOTIFICATION SIGNATURE FORM
(Applicant Notification and Record Challenge)

Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. You have the
opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI
identification record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction or updating an FBI
identification record is set forth in Title 28 Code of Federal Regulations 16.34.

Procedures for obtaining a copy of the FBI criminal history record are set forth in 28 CFR 16.30
—16.33 or go to the FBI website at http:/fbi.cov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.

By signing this document below, I hereby state that I have reviewed a copy of the
Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights form.

Signature Print Name Date



5 DAY NOTICE TO APPLICANT

(New Licenses Only)

Pursuant to OCGA § 16-11-129:

(d) Investigation of applicant; issuance of weapons carry license; renewal.
(1) (A) For weapons carry license applications, the judge of the probate court shall within
five business days following the receipt of the application or request direct the law
enforcement agency to request a fingerprint based criminal history records check from the
Georgia Crime Information Center and Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of
determining the suitability of the applicant and return an appropriate report to the judge of
the probate court. Fingerprints shall be in such form and of such quality as prescribed by the
Georgia Crime Information Center and under standards adopted by the Federal Bureau of
Investigation. The Georgia Bureau of Investigation may charge such fee as is necessary to
cover the cost of the records search.

Please be advised that this office will forward to the Union County Sheriff’s Office a request for
the criminal records searches required by law within 5 days of the receipt of your application.
However, it is your responsibility to present yourself to the Union County Jail to be
fingerprinted. Your failure to do so within five days after completing your application or the
inability of the Union County Jail to schedule or receive you for fingerprinting within five days is
beyond the control of the Probate Judge/Court. We do not accept responsibility for your failure
or inability to present yourself for fingerprinting within 5 days or any requirement of Union
County Sheriff's Office which delays the taking of your fingerprints beyond five days after your
application is made.

The foregoing is hereby acknowledged by the undersigned applicant this
day of , 20

Signature of Applicant

Printed Name of Applicant

Attested by:

Clerk of Probhate Court or Notary Public



