*PLEASE READ*
Georgia Weapons Carry License Application Information Sheet

*THIS APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE COMING IN THE
OFFICE (EXCEPT FOR SIGNATURES)*

*» Times for Accepting Applications: Weapons Carry License Applications are accepted ONLY between
the hours of 8:00AM to 4:00PM (closed for lunch from 12:30-1:00PM), Monday through Friday.

* Domicile: Georgia law requires all applicants for a WCL to be domiciled in the county of application.
“Domiciled” means the applicant lives in this county and intends to remain here. You will be required
to present your Georgia driver’s license or photo identification at the time of application. It must
reflect your current Union County residential address; however, if you have a post office box, you
must provide proof of your residential address (ie: homestead exemption, voters registration, tax
records, etc.)

= Fees: New licenses are $78.25 (effective 8/1/2020). Renewal licenses (90 days prior up to 30 days
after expiration only) are $30.00. Payment is due at the time of application. Cash, local checks, and
credit cards (charges a 4.5% processing fee) are accepted.

= Fingerprinting: If you are required to be fingerprinted, you will be directed to the Union County Jail
upon applying.

= Photograph: All applicants are required to be photographed as part of the licensing process. This
photograph will be made at the time of application.

= Eligibility: This office will not “pre-qualify” you for a license. Any decisions on eligibility are made
after an application has been submitted and a criminal history has been received. If you have
questions regarding your eligibility, it is recommended that you seek the advice of an attorney. If
there are problems with your eligibility after the application has been submitted, you will be notified.

= Replacements: Replacements licenses are $6.00. If your license is damaged, you must turn it in at
the time of receiving the replacement. If your license is lost or stolen, you must report it to this office
within 48 hours.

= Legal advice: This office is not able to provide you with legal advice regarding where you can carry
your weapon.

= Reciprocity*: The following states honor Weapons Carry Licenses issued by Georgia: Alabama,
Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota,
Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West
Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. (*This list may be subject to change at any time pursuant to the
state Attorney General’s office. It is your responsibility to know the laws of these states.)

* THE LICENSE WILL BE MAILED TO YOU UPON ISSUANCE AT THE MAILING ADDRESS PROVIDED ON
THE APPLICATION.*





