Message from Union County Tax Assessor's Office:

Click Here

Commissioner’s Office

Location:
65 Courthouse Street, Suite 1
Blairsville, GA 30512
Contact:
Phone: (706) 439-6000
Fax: (706) 439-6004
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm

Lamar Paris, Sole Commissioner
Email: commissioner@uniongov.com
Office Staff
Larry Garrett
Email: ucmanager@uniongov.com
County Manager
Jennifer Mahan
Email: ucexec@uniongov.com
County Clerk; Executive Assistant to the Commissioner
Pam Hawkins
Email: purchasing@uniongov.com
Purchasing/SPLOST Projects
Laura Driskell
Email: ucfinance@uniongov.com
Director of Finance
Jill Chastain
Email: accountspayable@uniongov.com
Accounts Payable
Theresa Stephens
Email: insurance@uniongov.com
Human Resources/Insurance Coordinator
Renee Deibert
Email: renee@uniongov.com
Special Projects; Webmaster; Marketing; Alcohol Licensing

About:
The Sole Commissioner is the governing authority of the county. The Commissioner sets and approves the budget for all departments and elected officials. He sets the mill rate each year, which provides funds for the operation of the county departments. Union County is one of only 8 counties in the State that operates under a Sole Commissioner type of government.

The Commissioner is a sworn elected official and governed by the laws of the County of Union, the State of Georgia, and any and all applicable Federal laws. The Commissioner serves a 4-year term, which coincides with the presidential election.

The Commissioner’s office is directly responsible for the following departments:

• Building & Development
• Environmental Enforcement
• Emergency 911 Dispatch
• Emergency 911 Mapping
• Fire Department / Emergency Management
• Parks & Recreation
• Road Department
• Transfer & Recycling
• County Transportation

 

Announcements

Message from Union County Tax Assessor's Office:

The July 31st Board of Assessor's meeting has been moved to July 24th due to scheduling conflicts.