Special Announcements Click Here

Commissioner’s Office

65 Courthouse Street, Suite 1
Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone: (706) 439-6000
Fax: (706) 439-6004
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm

Lamar Paris, Sole Commissioner
Email: commissioner@uniongov.com
Office Staff
Larry Garrett
Email: ucmanager@uniongov.com
Jennifer Mahan
Email: ucexec@uniongov.com
Pam Hawkins
Email: purchasing@uniongov.com
Laura Driskell
Email: ucfinance@uniongov.com
Jill Chastain
Email: accountspayable@uniongov.com
Krystal Berry
Email: ucassist@uniongov.com


The Sole Commissioner is the governing authority of the county. The Commissioner sets and approves the budget for all departments and elected officials. He sets the mill rate each year, which provides funds for the operation of the county departments. Union County is one of only 8 counties in the State that operates under a Sole Commissioner type of government.

The Commissioner is a sworn elected official and governed by the laws of the County of Union, the State of Georgia, and any and all applicable Federal laws. The Commissioner serves a 4-year term, which coincides with the presidential election.

The Commissioner’s office is directly responsible for the following departments:

• Building & Development
• Environmental Enforcement
• Emergency 911 Dispatch
• Emergency 911 Mapping
• Fire Department / Emergency Management
• Parks & Recreation
• Road Department
• Transfer & Recycling
• County Transportation


Special Announcements

The Union County courthouse and related administrative offices will be on a 2 hour delay for Thursday, Feb 20, 2020.