County Meeting Rescheduled.

Click Here

Tax Assessor

tax-assessor (1)Location:
65 Courthouse Street, Suite 4
Blairsville, Georgia 30512

Contact Person:

  • Susie Phillips – Chief Appraiser
  • Jackie Chatham – Assistant Chief Appraiser
  • Amy Arrowood – Personal Property Appraiser
  • Larry Harkins – Chief Field Appraiser
  • Cindy Fox – Field Appraiser
  • Jordan Justice – Field Appraiser


QPublic Website Address for Union County:


Tax Assessor’s Office Contact Details:
Phone: (706) 439-6011
Fax: (706) 439-6012

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM

Helpful Links:
Union County GIS

Click here for: Appeal Form

Click here for: Personal Property Reporting Forms

The goal of the Union County Assessors Office is to provide the people of Union County with a web site that is easy to use. You can search our site for a wealth of information on any property in Union County.

The Tax Appraiser’s Office has five real-property appraisers and one personal property appraiser. This office collects and maintains all data related to property in the county. They keep records of each individual parcel of property, which includes the name, and address of the owners, and the valuation of the land and buildings on each parcel. This information is used to determine property tax bills, which are prepared by the Tax Commissioner.

The information contained herein reflects the values established in the “most current published” tax digest. Please note that the Assessors Office establishes values only. The Union County Tax Commissioner should be contacted with tax bill related questions. Tax statements are mailed and collected by the Tax Commissioner’s Office, which can be reached at 706-439-6017 or

Tax Returns
Taxpayers can file a tax return for taxable property (both real and personal property) owned on January 1 of the tax year. In Union County, the time for filing returns is January 1 through April 1. These returns are filed with the Tax Assessors office and forms are available in that office. The tax return is a listing of property owned by the taxpayer and the taxpayer’s declaration of the value of the property.

The Board of Assessors
The Board is appointed for fixed terms by the county commissioner(s) in all counties except one, is responsible for determining taxability, value and equalization of all assessments within the county. The County Board of Tax Assessors notifies taxpayers when changes are made to the value of the property; receive and review all appeals filed; and insures that the appeal process proceeds properly. In addition, they approve all exemptions claimed by the taxpayer.

County Board of Equalization
The Board is appointed by the Grand Jury, is the body charged by law with hearing and adjudicating administrative appeals to property values and assessments made by the board of tax assessors (Note: An arbitration method of appeal is available to the taxpayer in lieu of an appeal to the board of equalization at the option of the taxpayer at the time the appeal is filed.)

Specialized Assessment Programs

The most common programs are Conservation Use & Preferential Use Covenants, Forest Land Protection Act, and Freeport Exemption for Inventory. The application period for these programs are Jan 1st – April 1st.


County Meeting Rescheduled.

The County Meeting that was scheduled to be held on January 18, 2022 at 6:00pm was cancelled. This meeting is hereby rescheduled for Monday, January 31, 2022 at 6:00pm in the Union County Courthouse located at 65 Courthouse St., Blairsville, Georgia.

Please be advised there is a judicial order signed by Chief Superior Court Judge, Raymond George, in place requiring all persons within the
Union County Courthouse to wear a face covering/mask. No exceptions.